top of page
  • Writer's pictureJodie Louise

MY OPEN UNIVERSITY EXPERIENCE

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog!


In under a week’s time I will be venturing into my 4th module with the Open University, or my 3rd year with them, so I thought it would be interesting to write about my experience with them and explain the pros and cons of studying with them.


For those who aren’t familiar with the Open University, it is distant learning which means you study at home. The start and finish times are the exact same as a brick university (October to June) and you can choose whether you do it part time (one module at a time) or full time (two modules at a time). The OU allows students to work while studying and gives them the opportunity to study where they otherwise couldn’t. For example, some OU students don’t have the qualifications to be accepted into uni, some have serious health issues, and some have mental health issues whereby they wouldn’t be able to cope within a classroom environment.


So, now you know what the OU is about, let’s get started with the pros and cons of studying (in my experience).


PROS: 1). The community I’ve met some amazing people during my studying at the Open University. In all of my modules I have been in Facebook groups, and there is also a general OU Facebook group as well. All of the students are so helpful and encouraging. Of course there are the few that aren’t so helpful and don’t put in as much effort as the rest, however all in all the students are really supportive. I’ve met some amazing people with the Open University.


2). You can study at your own pace As I’ve said before, you can choose if you want to do full time or part time study. This is really good if you have a job, a health concern, or a family. You get a weekly planner that basically gives you a suggestion of what to read and gives you activities to work on, however you can get through them as quickly or as slowly as you need to. Obviously, if you take your time you may fall victim of getting behind and struggling when writing assignments, however with each assignment they highlight the necessary weeks/chapters that are relevant so you can focus on those particular weeks if you are short of time. I love this because I can easily plan my studying around work, and with a recommended 16 to 18 hours a week of studying (part time) it’s really easy to make the time in the mornings or evenings after/before work.


3). You learn new skills Due to it being distant learning with independent studying, you learn a lot of new skills. You don’t have a tutor to push you to study, so you learn how to motivate and discipline yourself. You learn time management; juggling work, family, and studying is hard work so planning is essential. Due to the tutors having limited leeway on how much help they can give you, you learn to use your initiative to work out what the assignments are asking you to do, and how to approach them. Students have actually gained promotions in their work while studying at the OU because they demonstrated these skills. Whenever I go to job interviews, employers are really keen and impressed by my studies and value the dedication and commitment it requires.


Cons: 1). Too independent As stated before, you have limited help from the tutor so if you’re a perfectionist (like me) it can be quite stressful if you’re not sure on how to approach an assignment. There was an assignment in my previous module where the student notes weren’t clear and there wasn’t enough information in the book to fully give the answer. It was really frustrating because my tutor couldn’t give help me or she would be ‘giving me the answers’. It stressed me out massively, and really made me doubt myself. Luckily I managed to get 81 which I was over the moon about!


2). The grade boundaries are higher. In a brick university the grade boundaries for a first is 70, however in the OU it’s 85. I think it’s because there are no requirements to study with the OU, so to compensate they rise the boundaries. I personally don’t think it’s fair because there is also extremely limited support from the tutors, and the assignments can be quite demanding, so having a higher grade boundary is added stress!


3). Don’t fall behind! It is so easy for life to get in the way, but if you fall behind it is so difficult to catch up! My studying had to come to a halt and it was extremely hard work to get ahead again. Being dedicated and disciplined while studying is so essential.


All of that being said, I would 100% recommend studying with the OU. It’s been a difficult journey, but one that has taught me so much about myself. It has boosted my confidence and shown me how capable I am. Although when I’m studying I doubt myself, and kick myself, and question why I even bother, it’s a brilliant experience and one that I am proud to be on. It is so worth it. Also, I love hearing other people’s success stories! It is such a huge motivational boost!


So, here is my OU experience. I hope you enjoyed and it’s given you some insight and even inspired you to join the OU!


Thank you so much for reading,


Love always, Jodie xx

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page